Home Economics Department

The Home Economics Department within Coleraine College is based around two central teaching areas. Theory lessons are classroom based and the room is complete with an interactive whiteboard to assist the teaching and learning experiences of the pupils. Within these lessons pupils are encouraged to explore individual ideas, consider choices and make decisions. Practical lessons take place in the refurbished and modern kitchen facility and pupils participate in cookery classes here.
At the College we hope pupils will enjoy studying Home Economics where it is hoped they will gain useful skills to assist them now and in later life.
All pupils in Year 8-10 study Home Economics and cover three key strands:
  • Diet and Health
  • Home and Family Life
  • Independent Living
Each strand is developed across the Key Stage and pupils have the opportunity to study topics that include hygiene and safety, diet related diseases, consumerism and becoming independent with resources that include money and time. A number of different teaching strategies are used and include individual/pair/group work, role play, discussion and practical lessons. These strategies and experiences ensure pupils gain a wide variety of skills for use in the subject and across the curriculum.

Key Stage 4 Courses

The Home Economics Department offers both GCSE Home Economics and GCSE Child Development.
GCSE Home Economics:
The new GCSE specification is composed of three key units:
  • Unit 1 Diet and Health and Consumer Awareness
  • Unit 2 Diet and Health
  • Unit 3 Consumer Awareness
The programme of study seeks to consolidate and extend the knowledge and skills acquired including practical cookery at Key Stage 3.
Assessment is composed of one external examination for Unit 1 and two controlled assessment tasks to examine Unit 2 and Unit 3. Unit 2 involves pupils planning for, preparing a selection of dishes and completing evaluative work based around a set title. Unit 3 involves pupils completing a piece of research on a current consumer issue.

GCSE Child Development

The new GCSE specification is composed of four key units:
  • Unit 1 Parenthood, Pregnancy and Childbirth
  • Unit 2 Child Development 0-5 Years
  • Unit 3 Investigation Task
  • Unit 4 Short Task
The course aims to encourage pupils to consider the responsibilities of becoming a parent along with the associated issues. The understanding of pregnancy from conception to birth is also covered in detail including the key aspects of antenatal and postnatal health. The comprehensive needs of the newborn are dealt with and how they develop in key areas that include physical and intellectual milestones.
Assessment is composed of two external examinations for Unit 1 and Unit 2 and two controlled assessment tasks to examine Unit 3 and Unit 4. Unit 3 involves pupils completing a piece of research on a current child development issue e.g. safety. Unit 4 involves pupils completing research on a topic and producing a final outcome that could include a leaflet, newspaper article or PowerPoint presentation.